Shredded chicken in a smoky, spicy tomato sauce with red onion rings

This is another great mid-week meal; quick to make when you get in from a day that’s made you want to tear your hair out (hopefully just your own, but maybe other people’s too if it’s been really trying 😉 ), bursting full of flavour, and, relatively, healthy. It’s also a good last-minute meal for the rare occasions when I haven’t planned out every instance of eating a week ahead, as I tend to have most of these ingredients in the house anyway! For all that it’s a really simple meal, I’ve had a lot of recipe requests from friends that I’ve fed this to!

This is based on a recipe from BBC Good Food which I’ve tweaked a little.

For two people you will need;

  • Slug of olive oil
  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1 white onion
  • 1 red onion
  • 2 fat garlic gloves
  • Plenty of fresh coriander
  • 1/2 tsp muscovado sugar
  • 1 sachet of fajita seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp chipotle paste
  • 1 tin of chopped tomatoes
  • toasted pitta breads to serve

Funnily enough, the original recipe didn’t call for a sachet of fajita seasoning, but one time I made this with just a tiny scraping of chipotle paste left in my jar and found that supplementing with an old packet of fajita seasoning I found lolling around the back of my cupboard worked quite well!!

Heat the oil in a large pan and fry the chopped white onion and crushed garlic. Once these have have begun to cook, add the sugar, chipotle paste and fajita spices and fry for another few minutes. Add the chopped tomatoes then after a few minutes the whole chicken breasts. Turn the heat down to a simmer, shove a lid on the pan and pour a glass of wine in order to forget the stresses of the day… After 20 minutes, remove the chicken from the pan, shred it, and return to the pan. Cut the red onion into fine rings and scatter on top of the sauce for the last few minutes of cooking, to soften. Serve with a liberal sprinkling of roughly chopped fresh coriander and a toasted pitta bread.

IMG_4374

IMG_4375

Enjoy! Hope you are all having good weeks 🙂

5 Comments on “Shredded chicken in a smoky, spicy tomato sauce with red onion rings”

  1. OwlMcCloud says:

    I would soo eat this!!

  2. This would definitely destress me. The colour is fiery and I love a good bunch of coriander on anything. It really lifts my mood, I don’t know why. I don’t eat enough saucy things with bread either, this looks very tasty indeed 🙂


Leave a Reply

