Jamie’s garlic rosemary chicken with green bean and pesto linguine. Sort of.

While I was in the doctor’s waiting room a few weeks ago I saw an episode of Jamie Oliver’s 15 minute meals. I missed the start and I missed the end, after being called in for my appointment (how inconsiderate! Trying to watch something here!) but I really liked what I did see and thought the recipe in question was an excellent idea for a quick but interesting and tasty mid-week meal (blimey, I’m doing Jamie’s marketing for him now). When I got home I hit t’interweb in a bid to find the actual recipe, but no luck! I guess if it’s in his new book he’s probably not going to post it online for people like me to nab for free…

So, I took the basic idea from what I saw on the programme and had to freestyle (clearly spent too long watching Jamie) a little with what I could remember and sort of make up the ingredients as I went along.

This is what I used

  • Enough fresh linguine for two (I think tagliatelle would have been better, but linguine was all I could get my hands on at the time)
  • 2 chicken breasts
  • handful of garlic cloves
  • a little rosemary (preferably fresh)
  • handful of juicy cherry tomatoes (I always think buying on the vine means you get much sweeter and tastier tomatoes)
  • Pot of basil
  • grated parmesan
  • blanched flaked almonds
  • olive oil
  • green beans
  • salt & pepper

I bashed the chicken breasts out to flatten them a bit to help them cook evenly then rubbed them in olive oil, a little crushed garlic and plenty of rosemary. I cooked them in a hot pan with olive oil with a few extra whole cloves of garlic in the pan (peel left on) which were lovely and sweet to eat at the end. I added the halved cherry tomatoes around halfway through.

IMG_4300

 

Meanwhile, I put the green beans on to cook and made the almond pesto by chucking in liberal amounts of fresh basil, grated parmesan and almonds (that had been blanched in hot water) to the blender. I didn’t measure out exact amounts but used around two parts basil to one part parmesan and one part almonds. I whizzed up, added a glug of olive oil then a ladelful of water from the pasta which has also meanwhile been cooking away (a good tip from Jamie to stop the pesto from being too naughty by just using loads of olive oil!) I added salt and pepper then blended some more. Yum.

IMG_4302

I drained the pasta and green beans and stirred through the pesto, adding the chicken breast, tomatoes and garlic cloves on top. Then just added a few leaves of fresh basil on top to finish. Slurp!

IMG_4304

IMG_4306

8 Comments on “Jamie’s garlic rosemary chicken with green bean and pesto linguine. Sort of.”

  1. One of my favourite Jamie meals but it always takes longer than 15 minutes!

  2. jmcvl says:

    Ooooh, pesto linguine looks delicious!

  3. Can’t beat a bit of Jamie Oliver!

  4. Steve says:

    Delicious!
    I gotta eat less!!

  5. looks delicious, and the pesto tips are really cool, gotta love that jamie Oliver guy 🙂


Leave a Reply

