Marmalade Chicken

So after all my weekends here, there and everywhere, and after numerous visitors have been and gone, we have finally enjoyed a weekend to ourselves with few concrete plans – ย bliss! We’ve slept in, ate toast and tea in bed with the papers, started our Christmas shopping, cleared out the monstrous dining room cupboard, and Rob has made me some more picture frames out of bits of old picture rail. I have also finally had a chance to make something worth blogging about!

This is a recipe quite often made in our family, first introduced to us by my Uncle Keith. I love it because it’s a really easy recipe, and the result is impressive given the small amount of effort you have to put in!

Here’s what you’ll need to make enough for four people;

  • 8 chicken thighs
  • 4 tbsp good quality marmalade (I like Tiptree. They do good jam too, yum!)
  • 3 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 3 decent sized garlic cloves, crushed
  • chunk of ginger, grated
  • Around 50ml orange juice
  • Around 1 tbsp olive oil
  • salt & pepper
  • spring onions

 

Mix the orange juice, marmalade, mustard, olive oil, garlic, ginger and salt and pepper in a bowl then marinade the chicken pieces for as long as you’ve got (a few hours is good if you’ve got time, otherwise at least half an hour)

Then all you do is bake in the oven (covered) at 180 degrees for around 20 minutes. After the 20 mins, take out, give it a stir and spoon the marinade over the chicken pieces a few times, then toss in a decent handful of chopped spring onions.

Pop back in the oven, this time uncovered, for another 15-20 minutes.

Sometimes if I think the chicken skin looks like it could take a bit of crisping up, I’ll toss the chicken pieces into a hot frying pan for a minute or so. I like to serve this with mashed potato, green beans and carrots, except the fridge was a little bare, so it was minus the green beans!

12 Comments on “Marmalade Chicken”

  1. Ooh-er Missus – this looks pretty scrum my. Might have to give it a bash!

  2. Oooh I love a good simple chicken recipe! Especially one you bung into the oven and serve with mash! This is such a magic adaptable recipe, it’s sooooo pinned so I don’t forget it ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. oh gosh, Tiptree – not too far a car ride away from our old house in UK. But their marmalade not available here. Nevermind, will find something for next time when our girls come home from college. Thanks.Ciao Carina

  4. This looks scrumptious, even though I don’t really like marmalade! I’ve got a lemon lime version I haven’t opened yet, I think I’ll try it with that soon. I might even do it in the slow cooker and see what happens ๐Ÿ™‚
    PS Tiptree jam is not only yummy, it’s also available in my local supermarket! Yay!

  5. srha1987 says:

    This chicken recipe looks scrumptious! I love all the ingredients especially marmalade and ginger. I think I’ll try it this week. I always need another reliable chicken recipe in my repertoire! Thanks for the inspiration! ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

