Summer Solstice, where are you?

Well the clocks changed here this weekend, the nights are drawing in and today I left the office in the dark. As someone who loves daylight and the sunshine more than most (I think I was born in the wrong country!) this is something that I find really hard to adjust to and I find the lack of sunlight really quite hard to deal with it at times. How can you not feel a bit down when you leave your house in the dark in the morning and leave the office in the dark on the way home? No more walks, runs, bike rides or games of tennis in the park after work now for the next few months! I think the fact that my office is located in the lower ground floor of the building doesn’t really help either! Anyway, now we suddenly have gloomy darkness an hour earlier than we’re used to, it made me cast my mind back to the start of the summer to the longest day – the summer solstice. I always think that the summer solstice feels a little magical – so much promise in the air, the thought of people celebrating this day around the world from ancient times, to pagan times, to today. The feeling of awe and admiration for the power of the sun. Tonight the dark evening made me cast my mind back to this year’s longest day. Here in Chorlton local pub the Horse & Jockey tends to hold a celebration to mark the occasion and this year the night included some highly impressive fire dancers, in the spirit of remembering the (somewhat limited!) warmth and light we enjoyed just a few months ago, I thought I’d share a few pictures here.

9 Comments on “Summer Solstice, where are you?”

  1. Last year when I was in Austin a friend took us to see her and others do fire dancing. It was so much fun. And one had me stand still while they twirled the fire around me. I was scared at first but would definitely do it again!

  2. I think the worst thing about living in London was leaving for work in the dark and arriving home in the dark… We are heading into summer here. Come on over! πŸ™‚

  3. I’m quite looking forward to some winter! I know it sounds crazy, but after the summer we had (direct opposite of yours) with temps hitting 43C I want to feel some crispy cold! And please don’t think that much heat is a good thing; especially when you’re having to live your life as normal and can’t spend 2 months on hols!!

    • Oh I know, the grass is always greener! I too really enjoy crisp cold days, as long as there’s a little blue sky now and then! It’s the relentless weeks of heavy dark rainy skies and short days where even the weakest winter sun fails to make an appearance that get me – that’s why everyone in the UK has a vitamin D deficiency!!

      • True. Thinking back to my days living in Preston, the constant drizzle was hard to deal with! We need to find ourselves a place where it’s always spring!! California maybe? Somewhere without extremes either way πŸ™‚

  4. Cam says:

    Back in the Midwest, we called it the “moles and trolls” phenomenon. Wake up in the dark, go home in the dark, might as well live in a cave πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

