Honey & Lemon Chicken with Cashews

BBC Good Food is one of my favourite sources of recipe ideas for quick and healthy mid-week meals. I like to cook after work as it helps me wind down and switch off but am usually pretty hungry so want something tasty and fresh that I can make quickly! This website has so many great recipes and has been the source of many of my tried and trusted favourites. This was a new one I tried last week.

Ingredients;

  • sliced chicken breast
  • groundnut oil
  • 2 medium garlic cloves
  • tender stem broccoli
  • yellow pepper (this was my addition to bulk up the veg count. You could add whatever other veg you fancied really, mushrooms would be good too I think)
  • 200 ml chicken stock
  • 1 heaped tsp cornflour
  • 1 or 2 tbsp honey (depending on taste)
  • the zest of half a lemon and juice of a whole lemon
  • large handful of unsalted cashew nuts
  • noodles

Heat your oil in a wok and fry the sliced chicken until golden. Remove and set aside. Add the crushed garlic, broccoli (I parboiled mine just a little first) and yellow pepper and stir fry until tender.

Meanwhile, mix your stock, cornflour and honey then pour into the pan and simmer until thickening. Add the previously cooked chicken as well as the lemon zest and juice. Throw in a good hanful of cashew nuts then serve. We had ours with noodles. Slurp!

Et voilà! A healthy, quick and tasty mid-week meal! Even the other half enjoyed this and he’s not really a broccoli fan!

3 Comments on “Honey & Lemon Chicken with Cashews”

  1. My go to site is Taste.com. It’s the Australian equivalent, I think. 🙂

    • It’s so handy to have somewhere you can dip into for meal inspiration, especially for mid-week ideas when you don’t have much time but still want something interesting! I might have a wee nosy at Taste.com too!

  2. Looks healthy and delicious!


Leave a Reply

