Fat free chocolate cake… well, sort of!

The other half and I were craving something sweet earlier this week but I didn’t want to be too naughty. I had a rummage around the kitchen, we had no proper butter and no eggs. We did however have an incredibly ripe avocado that needed using. (Having been away for the weekend and left my male counterpart to do the weekly shop, I have a lot of extra items that need using. Why buy just one avocado when you can buy a family pack right?!). I suddenly remembered watching saw random ‘raw food movement’ type programme on television a while ago. A very enthusiastic woman told us incredulous viewers that she was going to make a raw chocolate cake. Using avocado as a substitute for butter. So I took to Google and had a look at some recipes. It was quickly established that neither did we have the required array of ingredients nor was the other half likely to eat a flour-less raw chocolate cake. He was, however, willing to try a slightly less radical version.

So I decided to make the following recipe which I found online

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 6 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons bicarbonate soda
  • 2 cups sugar (the recipe didn’t specify but presumed this was caster)
  • 1/4 cup almond oil
  • 1 large very ripe avocado, well mashed
  • 2 tablespoons white vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees celsius and grease cake tins.

Sift all the dry ingredients, except the sugar, together.

Mix all the wet ingredients together, including the avocado. I used a food processor to make sure it was really well mixed. Add the sugar into the wet ingredients and beat well with a whisk.

Looking pretty good, huh? Just like a normal chocolate cake mix? I, of course, had to sample a little at this stage, all in the name of research and all that… And can report that it was delicious! Nice and chocolately but not too sweet or rich, yummy! Very more-ish, infact….

Bowl licked clean…

Now, I must admit readers, I don’t often make a foray into the world of baking. This is for two reasons really. Firstly, I dread to think what size I would be if I baked regularly, I definitely don’t have enough restraint to have one little taste then give all the rest to the neighbours/friends/work colleagues (what’s the point in all that work, and more importantly, all those dishes?!) Secondly, while it may be a cliche, the kind of people who like experimenting with cooking and throwing together random ingredients tend to be a bit more ‘creative’ when it comes to specifics and measurements. I like to improvise. I am not very good at being precise and actually measuring things… Anyway, once the mixture is ready, pour into cake tins… here I showed my lack of baking experience. We could only find one of our cake tins. So I decided to whack the whole mixture into one. Big Mistake.

This of course meant the cake hadn’t cooked in the proscribed time (30 t0 40 minutes). We left it in a bit longer but the outside was beginning to burn so had to take it out.

As you can see, as a result of the one tin error, the cake had risen rather dramatically and did not look very pretty… it also meant that while we had to take it out as the outside was beginning to burn, the very middle was still chocolately gloop. Tasty warm gooey chocolately gloop. We had accidentally created a melt-in-the-middle chocolate avocado pudding! And it was actually rather tasty! So baking disasters can still turn out relatively ok!

We did not have the time or ingredients to make the avocado frosting to go with it, but here’s what the recipe called for;

  • 2 small to medium very ripe avocados
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 1 pound icing sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
I think I will have to try this again, in a less slap dash manor, and give the icing a go. I think it would also be nice with a chocolate icing or maybe even a mint one…
Just need to find the next excuse for baking!
One Comment on “Fat free chocolate cake… well, sort of!”

  1. love the look of this gooey chocolate cake – and avodados – who’d have thought it!!


Leave a Reply

